Home Local News Former Texas A&M University-Commerce Quarterback Luis Perez named to D2Football.com All-Decade Team

Former Texas A&M University-Commerce Quarterback Luis Perez named to D2Football.com All-Decade Team




COMMERCE – Harlon Hill Trophy winner and professional quarterback Luis Perez, who starred for the Texas A&M University-Commerce Lions from 2016-17, has been named to the D2Football.com All-Decade Team as the second team quarterback, as announced Tuesday.
Perez was the winner of the 2017 Harlon Hill Trophy, awarded to the top Division II college football player in the nation. He completed 421-of-596 passes for 5,001 yards, 46 touchdowns, and 11 interceptions. The 5,001 yards are the fourth-most by a quarterback in a single Division II season. He also set Division II Championship records for pass completions (144), pass attempts (211) and passing yards (1,570). He became the first quarterback to pass for over 300 yards in the National Championship game since 2005 and tied a Division II and Lone Star Conference record for the most 200-yard passing games in a season with 14. He became the first Harlon Hill Trophy winner to also win a Division II National Championship since 2002 and only the sixth overall in the 32-year history of Division II’s premier football award.
For his career, Perez completed 665-of-985 passes for 8,327 yards, 78 touchdowns, and 16 interceptions. He was the starting quarterback for 28 games, leading the Lions to a 25-3 record, two NCAA Division II playoff appearances, and a Lone Star Conference championship. He completed his collegiate career by leading the Lions on a 10-game winning streak, including four road or neutral playoff games on the way to the National Championship.
He was named a First Team All-American by D2Football.com, the Division II Conference Commissioners Association, the Associated Press, and Don Hansen’s Football Gazette, and a Second Team All-American by the American Football Coaches Association. He was also named the Ron Lenz Offensive Player of the Year by the D2CCA, D2Football.com Offensive Player of the Year, and Don Hansen’s Football Gazette Offensive Player of the Year. He won the J.W. Rollins Award as the Lone Star Conference’s Offensive Player of the Year and is a two-time First Team All-Lone Star Conference selection at quarterback.
Following his graduation from A&M-Commerce, Perez made NFL camps with the Los Angeles Rams and Philadelphia Eagles, was the first quarterback drafted in the Alliance of American Football by the Birmingham Iron, was selected by the Los Angeles Wildcats of the XFL, and was the starting quarterback for the XFL’s New York Guardians prior to the cancellation of the remainder of the 2020 season due to the coronavirus pandemic.

QB Jason Vander Laan Ferris St. Luis Perez A&M-Commerce
RB Franklyn Quiteh Bloomsburg Cameron McDondle Colorado St.-Pueblo
RB Austin Ekeler Western Colorado Ja’Quan Gardner Humboldt St.
WR Jeff Janis Saginaw Valley St. Brody Oliver Colorado School of Mines
WR Billy Brown Shepherd Shane Zylstra Minnesota St.
TE Adam Shaheen Ashland Brian Leonhardt Bemidji St.
OL Ryan Schraeder Valdosta St. Alex Cappa Humboldt St.
OL Garth Heikkinen Minnesota Duluth Eric Kush California (Pa.)
OL Ryan Jensen Colorado St.-Pueblo Brandon Fusco Slippery Rock
OL Amini Silatolu Midwestern St. Matt Armstrong Grand Valley St.
OL Joe Long Wayne St. (Mich.) Trey Pipkens Sioux Falls
DL Matt Judon Grand Valley St. Marcus Martin Slippery Rock
DL Brandon Williams Missouri Southern Grover Stewart Albany St.
DL Jamie Meder Ashland Cedric Thornton Southern Arkansas
DL Matt Lonacre Northwest Missouri St. Zach Sieler Ferris St.
LB Deon Lacey West Alabama Larry Dean Valdosta St.
LB Nate Dreiling Pittsburg St. Adam Bighill Central Washington
LB Connor Harris Lindenwood Carlos Fields Winston-Salem St.
DB Malcolm Butler West Alabama Janoris Jenkins North Alabama
DB Kyle Dugger Lenoir-Rhyne Jeff Heath Saginaw Valley St.
DB Rontez Miles California (Pa.) Tavierre Thomas Ferris St.
DB Pierre Desir Lindenwood Brandon Dixon Northwest Missouri St.
K Greg Zuerlein Missouri Western Dante Brown Fort Hays St.
P Taylor Accardi Colorado School of Mines Randy Weich Wayne St. (Neb.)
AP John Brown Pittsburg St. Deonte Harris Assumption

You may also like