Home Featured Hopkins county genealogical society wins multiple awards at state

Hopkins county genealogical society wins multiple awards at state

by Taylor Nye

The Texas State Genealogical Society’s Annual Awards Ceremony was held virtually on Saturday, November 13, 2021.TxSGS awards ceremony was not held in 2020 because of Covid-19, so the number of entries was doubled. 

The Hopkins County Genealogical Society entered its quarterly, website, and their latest publication The Progressive City – History of Downtown Sulphur Springs 1914 into the statewide competitionSociety member Avery W. Smith also entered his book Blind Tiger – My Time in Vietnam. 

The HCGS quarterly Hopkins County Heritage published by Editor CarolAnn Dixon won First Place for Official Periodical of Partner Societies. CarolAnn has previously won 1st Place in 20182nd Place  in 2015 and 2017, and 3rd Place in 2019. 

The Progressive City – History of Downtown Sulphur Springs 1914 won 3rd Place for Books Published by Partner Societies. It is the culmination of five years of research and was compiled by Shirley Lunceford Patchen. The book contains incredible history about the town and the people that lived in Sulphur Springs during the early part of the twentieth century. 

Avery W. Smith served in Vietnam as a Special Forces Advisor to the South Vietnamese Army, and finally at the U. S. Army Surveillance School at Ft. Huachuca, Arizona before leaving the service in July 1970. Blind Tiger – My Time in Vietnam tells his experiences. Avery is A Son of the Republic of Texas and a sixth-generation Texan from the Northeast Texas community of Sulphur Springs, Texas.  

These books are available at the genealogy library located at 611 N. Davis which is currently closed for construction until Monday, January 3, 2022.

HCGS Officers for 2021-2022 are:

President: Mayor John Sellers

First Vice-President: Rhonda Bechhold

Second Vice-President: CarolAnn Dixon

Treasurer: Pat Goggans

Librarian: Jan Stovall

Recording Secretary: Sue Tittle

Corresponding Secretary: Maggie Mae Sherrow

Parliamentarian: WG “Bill” White Jr. 

Quarterly Editor: CarolAnn Dixon

Archivist: Earl Pogue

Programs: Rhonda Bechhold

Membership: CarolAnn Dixon

You may also like