Home Local News Early voting starts Monday for the primary runoff. Here’s what you need to know.

Early voting starts Monday for the primary runoff. Here’s what you need to know.




On July 14, Texas will hold its 2020 runoff elections to decide the final spots for Democrats and Republicans on the November general election ballot. 

With early voting starting Monday, this is what you need to know.

Who can vote in the runoffs?

Texas has open primaries, meaning you don’t have to be a registered member of either party to cast a ballot in a primary runoff. You can check your voter registration status here. But you can only vote in one party’s primary, and which one might depend on how you voted in the first round of the primaries in March. People who voted in the March 3 primary are only able to vote in that same party’s runoff election, as they have affiliated themselves with that given party for that calendar year. Those who did not participate in the March primary are able to vote in either primary runoff election.

Where can I vote early?

Voting will be held at the Justice of the Peace 2 Courtroom at 128 Jefferson Street from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday, June 29 until Friday, July 10. There will be no voting on July 3rd or 4th.

What’s on the ballot?

On the Republican run-off ballot is Dan Flynn vs Bryan Slaton for State Representative District 2.

On the Democrat ballot is MJ Hagar vs Royce West for US Senator and Roberto R Alonzo vs Chrysta Castaneda for Railroad Commissioner.

Election Day Polling Locations

Regular voting will be held on July 14th from 7 am to 7 pm at the following locations: 

  • Our Savior Lutheran Church, 100 Texas St., Sulphur Springs
  • Morning Chapel Missionary Baptist Church, 208 Fuller St., Sulphur Springs
  • Hopkins County Courthouse, 118 Church St., Sulphur Springs
  • League Street Church of Christ, 1100 South League Street, Sulphur Springs

You may also like