Home Local News Award Recipients for 2020 The Reverend Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Awards Celebration Announced

Award Recipients for 2020 The Reverend Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Awards Celebration Announced



Photo from 2018 Reverend Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Awards Celebration


Award recipients for the 2020 Reverend Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Awards Celebration were announced this weekend. The program will be held Monday, January 20, 2020, 7:00 pm,at Morning Chapel Missionary Baptist Church, 208 Fuller St., Sulphur Springs, TXThis event is free and open to the public. Dr. Mark Rudin, President and CEO of Texas A&M University – Commerce, will be the master of ceremony.

This award is given to those who demonstrate Dr. King’s legacy of raising public consciousness to social justices, securing progress on civil rights, and loving and serving humanity.  This award commemorates their voice on social issues, outstanding achievements, personal standard of spiritual excellence, and community involvement.  Like Dr. King, they seek justice and total equality for everyone.


2020 Essay Readers

Lindsey Hayes

Samara Clayton

Jamarion Hall

James Winnett-Moore


2020 MLK Honorees

Aaliyah Harris

Adrian Pruitt

Aspen Burns

Aubrey Harris

Berzahi Hernandez

Brayden Adamson

Cameron Warren

Camilla Perez

Carla Harper

Cathy Duffey

Charrmain Crook

Chef Thomas

Courtney Edwards

Craig Cohen

D’Arian Gordon

Delores Smith

Denise King

Dequarian Wilkerson

Frank Jimmerson

Glynis Harrison

Hunter Peters-Hughes

Jackie Russell

Jamareus Harrison Beard

Janelle Safford

Jasmine Ramirez

Jimmy Edwards

Joel Garcia

John Robinson

Joyce Young

Julie Varosi

Justin Finley

Karen Weatherman

Kate Mitchell

Kaylee Malone

Kaylon Alexander

Kelly Herriage

Kendra Chaffer

Kennedy Lee

Kerry Potts

Kim Reed

Krishay Mistry

Kristen Potts

Mackenzie Haynes

Marcus Duffey

Margaret Sanders

Merlene Ross

Michelle Pasion

Charles Young

Nelson Dent

Nick Cantillo

Osvaldo Rodriguez

Deborah Gilmore-Sharper

Gaylin McCurdy

JossieJimmersonMack Barrett

Patricia Edwards

Pine McQuay

Reiko Alexander


Jason Lindley

Rhonda Orren

Sean Tyler Dial


Angella Mosley

Chasity Roy

Rowena Johnson

Silvesta Alexander

Stephanie Cohen

Stephen Edwards

Ta’nia Shavers

TaMiyah Rose

Taylor Mitchell

Terika Wright

Thomas Earl Johnson

Thomas Peters

Ty Holt

Tyesha Pruitt

Venda Wright

Zyan Fobbs

Frankie Joe Hawkins

Zhakari Jackson

Mynder Kelly

Silvesta Alexander

Roslyn Lee Berry

Ashanta Alexander

Yvonne Thornton


You may also like