Home Local News Board Briefs for Sulphur Springs ISD July 8th, 2019 Board Meeting

Board Briefs for Sulphur Springs ISD July 8th, 2019 Board Meeting




A regular meeting/budget work session was held on Monday, July 8, 2019.



No one requested to address the Board during the Public Forum portion of the meeting.



Veronica Arnold reported on SHAC activities for 2018-2019.


Josh Williams reviewed the 2019-20 employee handbook.  There are no significant changes this year. The handbook will be located on the District’s website.


Williams presented TASB Localized Policy Manual Update 113.  The update will be presented for approval at the next regular board meeting.



Along with routine matters, the following were approved:


The proposed slate of 2019-2020 SHAC members, as presented.


Student accident insurance for 2019-2020 with Texas Student Resources for a total premium cost of $39,025.00.


Robert Cody as delegate and Robbin Vaughn as alternate for the 2019 TASB Delegate Assembly to be held on September 21, 2019 in Dallas, TX.



Sherry McGraw presented an updated draft of the 2019-2020 budget.  A special meeting will be held on Thursday, July 18 at noon for further budget updates. The budget will be submitted for approval at the regular August 12 board meeting.





Mary Surber                              Transitional 1st Teacher                           Barbara Bush

Melissa Aaron                           P.E. Teacher                                         Bowie

Brittany Maness                                    P.E. Teacher/Girls Coach                       Middle School

Rothman Tafel                           Asst. Band Director                               Middle School

Justin Maness                           SpEd Teacher/Volleyball Coach             High School

Jeana Penny                             Campus ARD/504 Coordinator               High School

Derek Tyson                             Math Teacher/Coach                              High School


New Personnel

Jessica Takacs                         SpEd Teacher                                       Barbara Bush

Jennifer Grubbs                                    Inclusion Aide                                       SS Elementary

Elliott Ayo                                 Asst. Band Director                               Middle School

Savannah Himes                       P.E. Teacher/Girls Coach                       Middle School

Ashanti Ivery                             SpEd Aide                                            Middle School

Brandon Shurtleff                      Innovative Technology Specialist/          High School


Brianna Williams                        HSTE Teacher                                       High School




[pro_ad_display_adzone id=”25296″]


You may also like