A Look at Some of the New Laws Going Into Effect in Texas Beginning September 1st, 2019

by Front Porch News 0

water oak banner 1

 

 

Several new laws will go into effect across Texas beginning September 1st, 2019. A breakdown of some of the more new laws is below.

HB 234 – Lemonade stands

This new law is designed to protect the ability of youth to have lemonade stands in their yards. Children under the age of 18 will be able to sell non-alcoholic beverages on private property.

SB 21 – Minimum age for tobacco sales

The minimum age for tobacco sales will be 21 beginning on September 1st. The law includes cigarettes, e-cigarettes and all other tobacco products.

HB 446 – Brass knuckles

This law lifts the state ban on carrying brass knuckles, kitty key chains, clubs and other self-defense items in public.

SB 1232 – Alcohol delivery

This law will allow patrons to leave breweries with craft beer. Beer and wine can be delivered to your home under this new law.

HB 2048 – Increase fines/fees for drivers

HB 2048 repeals the Driver Responsibility Program and will reinstate the licenses of a large number of drivers that have had their licenses suspended. State traffic fines and intoxicated driver fines are planned to increase.

  • $3,000 for the first conviction within 36 months;
  • $4,500 for a subsequent conviction within 36 months; or
  • $6,000 for a conviction if it was shown that the person’s alcohol concentration level was 0.16 or more

HB 1518 – Cough syrup

This will raise the age for the sale of dextromethorphan to customers to 18. It’s a common ingredient in cough syrup that some people abuse.

HB 547 – Hunting/fishing license

This law will no longer require you to carry a paper copy of your hunting or fishing license. You can now show proof of your license on your phone via the TWPD website or photo.

 

TOWN AND COUNTRY SIDEBAR ONE

 

Alliance Bank Sidebar 1

 

NELSON’S ITECH sidebar 2